Executive Committee

FHPCA is proud of our dedicated and outstanding Executive Committee, we feel honored to have such a talented group of people leading our organization.



Susan de Cuba, MA, ACHE, President & CEO, Treasure Coast Hospice

Susan de CubaSusan has worked for Treasure Coast Hospice for ten years, overseeing various departments including Bereavement, Volunteer Services, Marketing, Foundation, Finance, IT and Compliance. She was recognized by the American Marketing Association as one of the top non-profit marketers in the country and was responsible for Treasure Coast Hospice’s award winning media education campaign. She holds a Bachelor’s degree from Florida Atlantic University with a double major in Humanities and Spanish, Treasure Coast Hospice Logoand a Master’s degree in Counseling from University of South Florida.



Chuck Lee, MA, MBA, President & CEO, Cornerstone Hospice

Lee_Conerstone_Headshot_200Before joining Cornerstone Hospice as President and CEO in 2013, Chuck had more than 11 years of executive-level hospice experience. Chuck holds a Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laude, from Loyola University. He earned his Master of Arts at The George Washington University, and his Master of Business Administration at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Chuck has also completed an extended internship in Clinical Pastoral Education at Baptist Hospital in Pensacola FL, and he is a Permanent Cornerstone HospiceDeacon, ordained in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee.



Samira K. Beckwith, President and CEO of Hope Healthcare Services

Samira BeckwithSamira has served as president and CEO of Hope Healthcare Services for more than two decades. She also serves as chair of the National Hospice Foundation Board of Directors and is a National Hospice Work Group founding director. She also serves on the American Society of Pain Educators Board of Directors, National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization Board of Directors and is the founder and president of Florida PACE Association. Beckwith earned undergraduate and graduate degrees from The Ohio State University and has been recognized for her leadership, career accomplishments and commitments to diversity. Hope HealthCare Services




Bonnie Alkema, RN, CHPN, Executive Director, Catholic Hospice

Bonnie AlkemaBonnie, who has over 20 years of experience in the hospice healthcare industry, has been with Catholic Hospice since 2008, where she was previously the Director of Performance Improvement. She comes from Caring People Home Healthcare Agency where she was the Director of Operations and Director of Nursing. A seasoned nurse, Bonnie has served as General Manager, National Patient Care Administrator, Patient Care Catholic HospiceAdministrator, and Team Manager, all within the hospice field.





Ernesto Lopez, Administrator, Hospice of the Comforter

Ernesto Lopez, RN, BSN, MBA, formerly served as assistant administrator at Florida Hospital Kissimmee for over four years, and has been with Florida Hospital for nearly seven years.







Linda Ward, MSW, President & CEO, Gulfside Hospice & Pasco Palliative Care

Linda WardLinda has 26 years of healthcare experience in acute care, long-term care and hospice care along with administrative experience in operations, management and marketing. As President & CEO of Gulfside Hospice & Pasco Palliative Care, Linda is responsible for overall operations of a $30M company, census growth and revenue, as well as provision of quality of care to patients and families. She holds a Master’s Degree in Social Work and Healthcare Administration, and is a national speaker.Gulfside Hospice & Pasco Palliative Care




Research & Development Committee

Cathy Adkison, BSN, CHPN, CEO, Big Bend Hospice

Cathy Adkison - Big Bend HospiceCathy has been the CEO of Big Bend Hospice since July 2011. Her prior experience includes Senior Vice President of Branch Operations at Alacare Home Health & Hospice in Alabama and Vice President of Operations for Western Region at Covenant Hospice in Pensacola. She has been working in the Home Health and Hospice industry for over 25 years. Big Bend Hospice




Public Policy Committee

Jim Poole, CHA, VP Community & Legislative Affairs, Haven Hospice

Jim PooleJim’s background has been community engagement and economic development, having lead the Lake City-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce and the Columbia County Economic Development Council over the last 19 years.Haven Hospice He is a veteran of the United States Air Force and enjoys golf when he can find the time.





Quality Committee: Indicators & Education

Cathy Blanchard, BSN, RN, Area Vice President of Operations, Emerald Coast Hospice


Cathy has been with Gentiva Health Services for over 19 years, and has been the Area Vice President of Operations – Hospice for over 6 years. A nurse by trade, Cathy also has extensive experience managing the overall operations of both Hospice and Home Health, including developing budgets and managing Agencies profitably. She received her Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing from the University of South Carolina.