2014 Awards of Excellence Winners

Awards of Excellence


AwardLunch2Orlando, FL. – On May 22nd, in conjunction with the 29th Annual Forum “The Journey Continues: Elevating Clinical Practice to New Heights”, Florida Hospice & Palliative Care Association (FHPCA) announced the 2014 winners of the annual Awards of Excellence in Hospice and Palliative Care. The Awards of Excellence program was created to identify, recognize and showcase the outstanding and innovative work of individual staff members and hospice programs throughout the state of Florida. This award program aims to provide a venue for hospice professionals to honor their peers and highlight the very best hospice has to offer.
FHPCA is pleased to announce the 2014 winners:


Barbara Janosko Award of Excellence in Leadership:

Dr. Gail Cooney, Hospice of Palm Beach County



Award of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Care:

Dr. Barry Miskin, Hospice of Palm Beach County



The Catalyst Award:

Pauline Taylor, Hospice of St. Francis



Award of Excellence in Program Innovation-Clinical Practice:

The Clinical Ladder, Emerald Coast Hospice



Award of Excellence in Program Innovation-Community Outreach:

“What’s On Your Bucket List?”, Avow



The Synergy Award:

Haven Hospice Ambassadors, Haven Hospice



The Hospice Story Award:

“A Hospice Story – Mr. T” by Gail Gerntrup, Hospice of Okeechobee



Congratulations to the award winners for their dedicated work to quality hospice care in Florida! For photos and summaries of the award winners, please visit our Forum webpage
About the Awards:

The Barbara Janosko Excellence In Leadership Award recognizes an individual in a midlevel management position whose work has promoted the advancement of excellence in hospice and palliative care.

The Excellence in Interdisciplinary Care Award recognizes an individual hospice and palliative care professional who has attained outstanding achievements in the direct provision of care to patients and families.

The Catalyst Award recognizes an individual in any role within an organization who has consistently demonstrated leadership in forging the collaboration that makes hospice unique.

The Excellence in Program Innovation Awards, Clinical & Community Outreach, are presented to hospice and palliative care programs which demonstrate dynamic innovations or special initiatives.

The Synergy Award recognizes a group of people in any role or configuration that has consistently demonstrated the ideals of collaboration and teamwork in working toward a goal or mission.

The Hospice Story Award recognizes an individual in any role within a hospice organization who most creatively and effectively conveys what their hospice experience means to them.


About the Awards of Excellence Selection Process: Nomination submissions are judged by a selection committee composed of leaders within the hospice industry. The selection committee considered examples and specific details that demonstrate how nominees have exceeded expectations and, by their actions, made those around them better. Nominees do not compete against each other; rather they are judged individually against a high standard of excellence and innovation.